The STCW 2010 Manila Amendments

In our previous blog, we have talked about the revisions done to the STCW Convention and Code particularly with the Security Certification of each seafarer. Now, we will tackle more the 2010 Manila Amendments as a whole.

What is the 2010 Manila Amendments

The IMO Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers (STCW) sets qualification standards for seafarers and basic requirements on maritime training, certification and watchkeeping on an international level since its establishment in 1978.

The latest ratification to the codes happened in 2010 in Manila where the name was taken and thus “The 2010 Manila Amendments” came into force which became effective last January 1, 2012. This is necessary to keep in line with new technological and operational requirements for shipboard competencies. The transition period is until 2017 and all seafarers are expected to have been newly certified with the upgraded maritime training they have undergone.

The 2010 Manila Amendments

What are the Changes in STCW

There will be new training requirements in order to be deemed qualified. And the following are the key points of the 2010 Manila Amendments:

  • Changes to Competence Table

Some of the changes in the STCW Competence  Tables include the need for deck officers to be competent in the use of ECDIS, for engineer officers to be able to operate pollution prevention equipment, and other competency when it comes to environment management.

  • Leadership and teamwork

Seafarers need to undergo assertiveness training for better communication.

  • Training record books

Trainees will have to demonstrate competence through the use of training record books while being supervised by training officers.

  • Mandatory security training

New security requirements will be introduced to all grades of shipboard personnel.

  • Refresher training

Emphasized in the Manila Amendments is the need for seafarers to prove their competence in basic safety training including survival, fire-fighting, first aid, and personal safety every five years.  These refresher trainings can be taken on board or at maritime training institutions.

  • Tanker training

New guidance and and comprehensive Competence Tables for training in oil, chemical and gas tanker operations are introduced.

  • New seafarer grades and certification

  • Medical standards

Introduced are additional medical fitness standards for certification.

  • Prevention of unsafe alcohol use

This include a specific limit of 0.05% blood alcohol level or 0.25mg/l alcohol in the breath.

Source: International Shipping Federation


Leave a Reply