STCW Security Certification for Seafarers: A Quick Guide

STCW Security Certification for Seafarers: A Quick Guide

CTSI, February 27, 2014

The STCW Convention and Code is responsible for setting the qualification standards for seafarers on seagoing. It started with the 1978 Convention which included basic requirement on training, certification and watchkeeping on an international level.

After a few revisions in between years up to the present, the standards have reached the so-called “The Manila Amendments” in 2010.  In a nutshell, the most significant amendments are:

STCW Manila Amendments

·         New rest hours

·         New grades of certificates of competence for Able seaman in both deck and engine

·         New and updated training and requirements

·         Mandatory security training

·         Additional medical standards

·         Specific alcohol limits

The Manila Amendments were effective as of January 1, 2012 with a transition period up until 2017 when all seafarers are certified in the following:

STCW Certification

STCW certificates issued prior to January 1, 2012 need to meet the new requirements in order to be revalidated beyond January 1, 2017. Administrations will have to advise seafarers about any new refresher maritime training.

Security Training

In accordance with the new 2010 provisions, all seafarers need to be trained and certified in security matters including the new anti-piracy actions from January 1, 2014.

Medical Certification

Current medical certificate requirements can still be accepted until 2017. However, after the said date or even earlier in preparation with the oncoming changes, all certificates must follow in accordance with the new 2010 requirements.

With the country gearing up for better education, CTSI is prepared to give OPITO-approved maritime and offshore training in the Philippines.